Story of My Life

 

brownie #4 - cookiedough

Just one more bite. Or two. Okay three, and I actually mean it this time.  Or maybe I should just have the whole thing–I’ve gone this far already. Cheat day, anyone? Mind you, my “official” cheat day was yesterday. Cheat weekend? I’m so full, I don’t know why I’m even eating this. But it tastes so good! Extra intense workout in the morning to make up for it? Either way, this stuff will still be around tomorrow. Maybe if I’m really good all day I’ll have just a little bit after dinner? Not a cheat, just a taste…who am I kidding, my whole life is a cheat! Such a fail.

Sound familiar? I have this little conversation, or some variation of it, with myself all the time. And it drives me crazy.

In our day and age there is a rampant epidemic of food addiction, and no one knows it. Now, when I say “food addiction”, I’m not necessarily talking about obesity. That’s just the tip of the iceberg, the part we can see. There’s so much more going on beneath the surface. In many people’s lives–definitely in mine–there’s a constant battle storming within, even though from the outside it looks like everything’s under control.

Not only is it possible for healthy, even skinny people, men and women alike, to experience food addiction, it’s common. It doesn’t matter if you hit the gym eight times a week or eat a nutritious breakfast or look great in your swim suit; food addiction isn’t about your body–it’s about your mind. And it’s about power.

Do you ever feel like a slave to your forever insatiable, ever-craving tongue? Have you ever paid more attention to the food on your plate than to the people sitting around the table? Do you find yourself anticipating second helpings halfway through firsts?

I know exactly how you feel.

Whenever food excites an irrational proportion of sensation–such as extreme elation because you get to eat a certain food, or extreme fear, because you only get to eat it once–that’s who you know food has crossed the line from “friends” to “more”. This is bad news. Because what initially begins as a happy, healthy relationship can quickly spiral into a civil war, a chaotic crossfire that can control, abuse, and tear you apart from the inside out. Many people in today’s society are living in bondage as prisoners of war, and they have no idea. And it’s all because they let food–a perfectly sweet, platonic friend, become more than it was ever meant to be, until it gained control of their cravings, their behaviour, even their decisions, and stretched its sparkly, silver spoon into every area of their lives.

Talk about a manipulative relationship.

One of the worst feelings in the entire world is to feel out of control within your own body, to feel powerless. But it doesn’t have to be this way. Food is meant to be a tantalizing experience, and we are fully capable of enjoying it without verging into the dangerous zone of obsession. However, this skill of neutral enjoyment is surprisingly difficult to master, and it often takes practice, tips and tricks, and encouragement. And that’s exactly what you’ll find on this blog.

I want to share my struggles, my victories, and my failures, as well as some of the tactics, resources, and recipes that have gotten me through. I’d be lying if I said I’ve completely defeated my food addiction, but I’ve made huge progress, and I want to help others do the same.  So join me on this adventure of learning to appreciate food for the mouthwatering, succulent, delectable awesomeness that it is–all the while making sure it stays where it belongs–in the Friend Zone.

4 thoughts on “Story of My Life

  1. Hi, I love how you set up your journal. I’ll have to switch to a new dietitian and wanted to log my food until I see her. Thanks for making my life easier!!!

    Nickie

  2. So true! I am a food addict as well and I am not obese. I generally eat healthy but every now and then I indulge in the absolute junk food (crisps, gummy bears etc) and when I do, it needs to be a whole pack of this crap. I can’t seem to be satisfied with just a few…It has gotten better but its still there. I can feel its a mental thing and not a hunger thing and I am an emotional eater as well. So, when I am sad, stressed, worried I tend to eat crap…

Leave a Reply

